Restoring a deleted repository that was owned by a personal account

December 26, 2022

Restoring a deleted repository

Restoring a deleted repository

In this article

  • You can restore some deleted repositories to recover their contents.

Restoring a deleted repository that was owned by a personal account

  1. In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings.

    Settings icon in the user bar

  2. In the “Code planning, and automation” section of the sidebar, click  Repositories.
  3. Under “Repositories”, click Deleted repositories.Deleted repositories tab
  4. Next to the repository you want to restore, click Restore.Restore button
  5. Read the warning, then click I understand, restore this repository.Button to confirm restoration

Restoring a deleted repository that was owned by an organization

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub.com, click your profile photo, then click Your organizations.Your organizations in the profile menu
  2. Next to the organization, click Settings.The settings button
  3. In the left sidebar, click Deleted repositories.Deleted repositories tab
  4. Next to the repository you want to restore, click Restore.Restore button
  5. Read the warning, then click I understand, restore this repository.Button to confirm restoration
Ref By - https://docs.github.com/en/repositories/creating-and-managing-repositories/restoring-a-deleted-repository

Written by Manoj Bhardwaj who lives and works in Dharamshala Himachal Pradesh (India). My stackoverflow